I’m going to pretend that I want to teach you how to make socks, and to discuss ‘sock making issues!’ In reality Miss H has let me lose, for the first and possibly the last time, on the blog. I have the password and I’m not afraid to use it :o) I’ve been stealthy making my way round ‘the blog’ for 20 minutes now and I have managed, I think, not to delete important stuff. I’m thinking very quietly whilst I make my way round. I feel like I have broken in to a very important building. The corridors are dark, the caretaker has left for the night. Any sudden movements will be greeted by the sound of sirens and I will be suddenly ‘floodlit’ from all possible directions. I make my way upstairs……. Shall I try changing the typeface? How bout a bit of bold…:o) The possibilities are endless. And so back to sock making. Hold on a minute, I’m tired now. Sock discussion tomorrow then, if the blog is still here. Ps. Love you Miss H xx

The Joy of Socks

Reasons why you should.

Socks are cool, more cool even than a hand knitted Christmas jumper.

We all wear socks so what could be better than having a fabulous pair knitted by your own fair hands.

People who cannot are impressed by those who can :o)

The quality of hand knitted socks is better than shop socks and even multi coloured shop socks!

You can make them short or long, pink, purple or blue, stripy, patterned…..

THE POSSIBILITES ARE ENDLESS………

Reasons why you shouldn’t.

It’s not easy to knit socks. Working with 4 or 5 needles can lead to a fair amount of swearing and finger blisters.

Instructions are not always ‘simple’ even though this word may be written all over the packaging.

If knitting socks with 5 blister inducing needles, whilst following non simple instructions, isn’t hard enough, you will have to repeat the whole process so that you have a pair.

Knitting a second sock can be mind numbingly boring.

And once you’ve finished…

After telling you how fabulous your socks are you will inevitably hear the words ‘You couldn’t knit me a pair could you?’ Well, no I couldn’t knit you a pair, is what you’ll be thinking. ‘Okay , of course I will’, is what you’ll be saying… And then you will spend the rest of your days avoiding that person.    If they do happen to run up beside you down some alley way in the future you will pretend that you decided that knitting was no longer  your ‘thang’, that your wool got eaten by moths, or that you’ve got soooo  many orders you won’t be able to make any for them for the next 20 years.

Just because you can it doesn’t mean you will.

As with all socks one day you’ll go to the drawer and one of your finest hand knitted socks will have left home and gone, never to be seen again!

Have I put you off? No. Then you are the man/woman for the sock knitting job. So adorn yourself with some double pointed needs, fine yarn and a ‘not so simple’ pattern and together will make ourselves a fine pair of HAND KNITTED SOCKS :O)

